Aboriginal musician

Black Arm Band

Folk, World

The Black Arm Band was formed in 2006 to perform the concert murundak (meaning ‘alive’ in the Aboriginal Woiwurrung language). The concert has been turned into the feature film Murundak: Songs of Freedom.

The Black Arm Band was formed after Ruby Hunter told her partner Archie Roach “we need an Aboriginal orchestra” [1]. The band was named after a speech by former prime minister John Howard in 1996 that dismissed the so-called “black armband view of Australian history”.

The Black Arm Band reminds me of the long struggle and the long journey we've been on. 30 years ago we were marching for justice down the city streets, but now we're telling our stories in the concert halls.—Archie Roach, The Black Arm Band

The band consists of black and white members: David Arden (Co Musical Director), Mark Atkins, Andy Alberts, Lou Bennett (Tiddas), Robbie Bundle, Kev Carmody, Liz Cavanagh, Emma Donovan, Kutcha Edwards, Carole Fraser, Joe Geia, Shane Howard (Co Musical Director), Ruby Hunter, Paul Kelly, Jimmy Little, Rachael Maza Long (actress, SBS presenter), Shellie Morris, Stephen Pigram, Archie Roach, Peter Rotumah, Dan Sultan, G.R Burrarrawanga (deceased), Bart Willoughby (No Fixed Address), Ursula Yovich and Geoffrey Gurrumul Yunupingu.

[The Black Arm Band is] to music what Bangarra Dance Theatre is to dance.—Steven Richardson, Artistic Director, Arts House

Website: http://www.blackarmband.com.au



Black Arm Band - Murundak
  1. Prologue/ We Have Survived (Bart Willoughby)
  2. Remembrance (Peter Rotumah)
  3. My Island Home (G.R Burarrawanga)
  4. Yil Lull (Joe Geia)
  5. Feel Like Going Back Home (Stephen Pigram)
  6. Solid Rock (Shane Howard)
  7. Took The Children Away (Archie Roach)
  8. Is This What We Deserve? (Kutcha Edwards)
  9. Didjeridoo Solo (Mark Atkins)
  10. Nyul Nyul Girl (Archie Roach, Paul Kelly, Shane Howard, Stephen Pigram)
  11. Our Home Is Our Land (Lou Bennett)
  12. Interlude
  13. From Little Things Big Things Grow (Paul Kelly, Kev Carmody)
  14. Somewhere Over The Rainbow (Shellie Morris)

Hidden Republic

Black Arm Band - Hidden Republic
  1. Djarrimirri (Geoffrey Gurrumul Yunupingu)
  2. Swept Away (Shellie Morris)
  3. Good to See Ya (Joe Geia)
  4. Your Love is Like a Song (Dan Sultan)
  5. Black Boy (Bunna Lawrie)
  6. The Dead Heart (David Arden, Emma Donovan, Shane Howard)
  7. I Have a Dream (Kutcha Edwards)
  8. Didjeridu Interlude (Mark Atkins)
  9. Where I B'long (Stephen Pigram)
  10. Aunty Across the Sea (Lou Bennett, Sally Dastey, Amy Saunders)
  11. Inside My Kitchen (Lou Bennett, Sally Dastey, Amy Saunders)
  12. Ngarrindjeri Woman (Ruby Hunter)
  13. Lighthouse (Archie Roach and the Mara Choir)
  14. Chinwag (Mark Atkins, Lou Bennett, vocalists)
  15. Blackfella/Whitefella (Jimmy Little, Ursula Yovich)
  16. Treaty (Kutcha Edwards, Shellie Morris)
  17. Wukun (Geoffrey Gurrumul Yunupingu)

Murundak (Live)

  1. Swept Away
  2. Lullaby
  3. Your Love Is Like A Song
  4. We Have Survived
  5. Solid Rock
  6. Feel Like Goin Back Home
  7. Down City Streets
  8. Took The Children Away
  9. Nyul Nyul Girl
  10. Our Home Our Land
  11. From Little Things Big Things Grow

Dirtsong (Live)

  1. Far Away Home (Live)
  2. Dirtsong (Live)
  3. Coming Up Close Now (Live)
  4. Traditional Chant (Live)
  5. Big Law (Live)
  6. I Am Not Your Way (Live)
  7. Sunrise (Live)
  8. Waakoobawhan Yannak (Live)
  9. Giidany (Live)
  10. Yarian Mi Tji (Live)
  11. Winnan Akk Pupuup Kaleek (Live)
  12. Giidany Reprise (Live)
  13. This Land Is Mine (Live)
  14. Dron Wanga (Live)
  15. Milaythina / Rrawa (Live)
  16. Rainstorm (Live)
  17. Gungalaira (Live)

Find Black Arm Band albums & CDs

Explore more Aboriginal musicians


View article sources (1)

1. ^ ‘Songs of freedom take centre stage’, Koori Mail 501 p.46

Cite this resource

An appropriate citation for this document is:

www.CreativeSpirits.info, Music - Black Arm Band, retrieved 13 December 2018